Music Monday: Songs from “Arthur”

As someone who grew up in 1990s North America, Arthur holds an important place in my general complex of nostalgia. I’m actually kind of shocked that it’s still on today, almost 15 years since it premiered in 1997, with Arthur Read, Buster Baxter, Francine Frensky, The Brain, et al. still in Mr. Ratburn’s class. Looking back, though, a pretty good amount of the shows don’t hold up for 19-year-old me as much as they did with, say, 7- or 8-year-old me.

One of them that does by far, though, is the musical episode, “Arthur’s Almost Live, Not Real Music Festival.” Part of the third season of 1999-2000, the episode had two songs that still resonate for me and those in my age group today: “Library Card” (which I invariably reference when talking about libraries) and “Jekyll and Hyde.”


Another song from the show that I remember wasn’t sung by the show’s principal characters (much like the show’s theme, performed by Ziggy Marley), but instead dealt with a secondary character. When Elwood Elementary is graffitied with the phrase “Binky Rules,” everyone suspects resident bully Binky Barnes to have committed the vandalism. But little did they know that it was the Swedish band Binky (later found to be holograms using technology that really could’ve come in handy for Gorillaz), who “performed” (it was actually performed by a real-life band named Varttina) this song:

And finally, here’s one I forgot about (or perhaps one I wanted to forget) until the lovely Kerishma Panigrahi reminded me: the theme to Crazy Bus, one of D.W.’s favorite shows:

Some brazen soul on YouTube actually remixed the “Crazy Bus” song, and those who like this sort of thing will find it the sort of thing that they like:

Leave a Reply

