Top 5: Favorite Phobias

Now, the only phobia I really have is fear of falling from great heights, which I guess is a form of acrophobia – though for a time, I did have a fear of carousels (which doesn’t have a word, according to both the Wikipedia and the Google, but the point’s moot, ’cause I got over it a couple of years ago). But, especially as a fervent watcher of Monk, I take a strange fascination in certain phobias. So here we go with #5, the fear of…

5. Staying Single – Anuptaphobia

Now, this one doesn’t sound as much like a fear as much as it is the way of life for nerds everywhere. I mean, whaddya gonna do? 

4. Peanut Butter Sticking to the Roof of One’s Mouth – Arachibutyrophobia

I remember this one from the “Wacky Words” section that occurred every few weeks in the planners I got in high school; it always seemed kind of strange (and for that matter, kind of rare) that people would be afraid of something so mundane. And, I mean, are there fears of other foods getting stuck to the roof of one’s mouth – say, mayonnaise? I mean, if there was only peanut butter as the lone casualty, I wouldn’t consider it as much.

(Sorry for that Seinfeld-esque rant, but it had to be done.) 

3. Ventriloquist’s Dummies, Wax Statues, and the Like – Automatonophobia

This is one I don’t have, but kinda sympathize with. Have you ever looked at a Howdy Doody or Charlie McCarthy puppet for a long time? Like, a really long time? Gives me the willies just thinking about it. It’s kinda Twilight Zone, hair sticks up at the end creepy. 

2. Clowns – Coulrophobia

Same thing with dummies; clowns are to the core kinda weird. I’m not afraid of them, just often annoyed and sometimes a little creeped out by them.

But the #1 phobia is kinda silly, as it’s…

1. Numbers  – Assorted

The most famous of these is triskaidekaphobia, fear of the number 13 (and its variant, the insanely long paraskevidekatriaphobia, fear of Friday the 13th), but in Asian countries there is often tetraphobia (fear of the number 4) and in Italy, fear of the number 17 (which has no name). I mean, this is not only crazy, it’s also quite disorganized and confusing when one tries to prevent it.

One thought on “Top 5: Favorite Phobias

  1. Pingback: Mental Disorders 101

Leave a Reply

