Music Monday: Weezer’s “Island in the Sun”

When I first heard Weezer, it was their song “Beverly Hills” – the edited version, to be exact, because somehow the line “my automobile is a piece of crap” is too risqué for Radio Disney. Catchy song, great guitar solo, different from the usual teenybopper crap on Radio Disney (of course, being a teenybopper myself back then – I was 12 at the time – I didn’t know it was crap). Of course, Weezer was a much older band than that, but how was I to know?

Later on, though, I found out  that I heard Weezer well before then. A local PBS station used to use the opening of “Island in the Sun” for its kids’ television ads. Now, I grew up in a golden age of kids’ television, especially on PBS (with such great shows as Wishbone and the Carmen Sandiego shows – but that’s another post), so I heard the opening “hip hip” of “Island in the Sun” many times before I knew it was “Island in the Sun”.

Last week, out of nowhere, I had the sudden urge to listen to “Island in the Sun” once more. It happened again this weekend. I still can’t explain why – but I can tell you it’s an absolutely wonderful song. (The music video, directed by Spike Jonze, is cute as well.)

So let’s go to a hill out there in the wilderness, to an “Island in the Sun”….

One thought on “Music Monday: Weezer’s “Island in the Sun”

  1. Pingback: Music Monday: Songs for an Elevated Train | Daniel Pecoraro's Random Musings and Trivia.

Leave a Reply

