Stuff I Dislike: Cartoon Network

Cartoon Network used to be so good.

The “Cartoon Cartoon” era of Johnny Bravo, The Powerpuff Girls, and my personal favorite, Dexter’s Laboratory; and shows after the age – Courage the Cowardly Dog, Samurai Jack and Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends – were a very important part of my childhood.

But the shows since then have gotten crasser, more sophomoric, and simply unfunny (or I’m just growing up, I’m not sure which it is). Ben 10 – terrible. Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy – terrible. Flapjack – stupid. Camp Lazlo – terrible. My Gym Partner’s a Monkey – need I say more? Class of 3000 – okay, that wasn’t that bad. The import of not-all-that good Canadian shows like 6Teen – which was rejected by Nicktoons Network, mind you – and Total Drama Island (I didn’t want to watch a reality show, and I really, really didn’t want to watch a bastardized cartoon version of a reality show) didn’t help matters. (Nor did Aqua Teen Hunger Force, which I still don’t understand.)

But Cartoon Network, at this point, is dead to me. Why? Two words – live action. There should not be live action on Cartoon Network. You want to show quasi-cartoonish films like The Mask on The Flicks movie block? Go for it. But don’t show crappy kid ghost shows like The Othersiders (as if I wanted to watch a ghost show in general – hint: I didn’t), Junkyard Wars clones like Destroy Build Destroy, Cash Cab clones like BrainRush (although that seemed like a pretty good show, it had no place on Cartoon Network), or Dude, What Could Happen?, a k a Jackass for Kids. And I like SlamBall as much as the next guy, but there shouldn’t be any sports on Cartoon Network except for a rerun of the Laff-A-Lympics.

One thought on “Stuff I Dislike: Cartoon Network

  1. Sometimes, though, Adult Swim pulls through with the goods. Metalocalypse, Superjail, The Venture Bros., and more carry on the old Cartoon Network legacy, but with a twist toward adults.

Leave a Reply

