Stuff I Dislike: “Yo Gabba Gabba!”

The cast of "Yo Gabba Gabba!" Seriously, creepy...

(Blogger’s Note: Apparently, this is my 50th post on Random Musings…so happy semicentennial post to me!)

Let’s get this out of the way right now:

I do not hate Yo Gabba Gabba!

That’s right, for the first time on the Tuesday Afternoon Stuff I Dislike, I am not discussing something that is the bane of my existence. I have the utmost respect for the show – it’s a program produced independent of their carrier, Nick Jr., yet having more success than any of their shows; it’s also a show that has been the Sesame Street of indie music stars, having snagged The Shins, Of Montreal, and MGMT for cameo appearances, which I consider pretty incredible.

However, I often compare the first time I saw Yo Gabba Gabba! to the first time I saw Iron Chef. Both times, it was late at night, and I was in need of sleep. When I first saw Iron Chef, I saw a flamboyantly-dressed man eat a raw bell pepper and men in pajamas cooking scary-looking sea urchin. I was petrified. Similarly, when I first saw Yo Gabba Gabba!, I saw a coven of really creepy monsters coming out of a man’s boom-box. And while I came to love Iron Chef, I have not had the same effect from Yo Gabba Gabba!

Again, I don’t hate it. I just think children shouldn’t watch it, as even to me it seems very, very creepy. It is a show of a cyclops, a bubble, a robot, a classic monster, and a ‘cat-dragon,’ as Wikipedia describes it, and their adventures in Gabbaland, which is controlled, “The Monsters are Due on Maple Street”-esque, by DJ Lance, a man with very large glasses, an even larger orange hat, and a still larger boombox. Unlike Sesame Street, the characters do not seem lovable; unlike Nick Jr. brethren The Wonder Pets!, the plot is not adorable; and, while the music is fantastic, there seems to be no redeeming quality for youngsters.

I don’t hate Yo Gabba Gabba! I just don’t think it’s right for little ones – or, even right for me.

Join me for next week’s installment of the Tuesday Afternoon Stuff I Dislike, when I discuss my utter hatred of College Board.

Leave a Reply

