Stuff I Like: Lady Gaga

Seriously, this was Looney Tunes...but awesome.

When I first heard Lady Gaga’s “Just Dance,” I cast her off for two reasons: first, the song is about getting completely drunk (I mean, we’re talking embalming drunk), and I thought all of her hit songs would be of that variety (apparently, I was merely looking into the future, at Ke$ha’s “TiK ToK”), and second, she looked completely insane. However, over the past six or so months, her music has grown on me.

For one thing, she truly is a musical virtuoso. After declining acceptance to the Juilliard School at age 11, she was admitted early to NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts at age 17, all on the skill of her piano playing and singing.  Her insanity, too, has grown on me, as well. Instead of playing up her sexuality, like so many of her fellow female acts unfortunately have (i.e. Fergie, Jennifer Lopez, Mariah Carey), she plays up the bizarre. You have to give her credit for that – instead of dancing around with little or nothing on, or simply focusing on the music, she is able to be an entertainer while maintaining her dignity.

But much like ringworm, her singles grew on me – they’re far too catchy to deny. And they can be changed in such clever ways, such as Jamie Cullum’s jazzy, klezmer-esque cover of “Poker Face” (go to the 2:30 mark): 

At this point, I really can’t help but sing along to “Paparazzi,” “Poker Face,” “Bad Romance,” and even her newest song, “Speechless,” which she performed beautifully at the Grammys with Sir Elton John (who looked like he stole the galaxy from Orion the Cat’s belt). And I eagerly await her next album.

Join me for next week’s installment of Saturday Night Stuff I Like, where I discuss The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson.

Leave a Reply

